Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Real Market for RCTW

The Real Market for RCTW

The power of licensing is on Atari's side and we're not Atari's primary target market. This means for all gaming communities, passionate RCT fans and coaster enthusiasts, there will be just as many general consumers interested in the game because of the franchise reputation and lack of coaster games available. These consumers don't follow blogs, forums or company social media, but will be aware of the game through effective media push close to release. It's akin to when coaster enthusiasts criticize parks (Six Flags) for putting in clones, but the parks don't care because the general public is the majority that's spending money, aren't aware of clones and are easily impressed by the new addition.

I work in marketing, so I look at everything intuitively. It seems the community was involved in giving basic inputs to the game for appeasement and to keep negative perception at bay. If you think about a company with limited resources, would they use resources to keep a smaller community up to date? Or will they dedicate resources for advertising to general consumers who will be impressed because of the RCT prestige and lack of other coaster games on the market? It would only take a snazzy trailer, media partner and a few ad buys to target the past consumers and next generation of players just because of the name. They aren't aware of any Beta or issues with community, but will see those sponsor ads during the start of amusement park season. Also note, select gamers (influencers) will be traveling to gameplay events and have exclusive info/access as ambassadors to balance reviews and search results. At least this would be a smart strategy. This will all be done before "the other game," so it will be first to market and that's where the money is made. Not to say we're not important but we're a smaller segment in comparison to the total market potential in the eyes of Atari.